Sunsets on Empire

SOLO ALBUM // 1997

1. The Perception of Johnny Punter (8:37)
2. Goldfish & Clowns (6:36)
3. Change Of Heart (3:41)
4. What Colour Is God? (5:50)
5. Tara (5:12)
6. Jungle Ride (7:34)
7. Worm In A Bottle (6:24)
8. Brother 52 (6:03)
9. Sunsets On Empire (6:54)
10. Say It With Flowers (4:15)


SOLO ALBUM // 1997

Sunsets on Empire is a studio album by Fish, the fourth with original material since he left Marillion in 1988. It was mostly written together with Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree, who co-composed six of ten tracks on the original version (plus one bonus track on the Japanese and remastered edition) and also produced the album.

Tim Bowness, Wilson's partner in No-Man, has additional writing credits on one track. Two permanent members of Fish's line-up, keyboardist Foster Paterson and guitarist Robin Boult co-wrote one and two tracks, respectively.


"Despite years in the wilderness spent nursing an unjustly unfashinable reputation, Fish has finally produced an album to be proud of. Mixing weighty Led Zep, Pink Floyd and Bowie-influenced moments with contemporary loops and samples, Sunsets is the charasmatic Scotsman's most relevant work to date." Channel 4

"The only fault with this album is that it is so good, so damned near perfect, that the next one cannot possibly be better. Melodic, progressive, call it what you will. I will call it excellent and one of the best albums of any type of music that you will hear this year. Make that this decade." Feedback magazine

Arranged and produced by Steven Wilson Vocal sessions produced by Avril Mackintosh Engineered by Elliot Ness Mixed by Calum Malcolm Recorded & mixed at Millennium Recording Studios, Haddington, East Lothian, Scotland. Mastered at Gateway Mastering Studios, Portland, Maine, USA by Bob Ludwig.

Sunsets on Empire - The Remastered Edition

The remaster of Sunsets on Empire is the definitive version of Fish's 5th studio album.

This remaster edition features 3 CDs of music in a hardcover book designed by Mark Wilkinson. The bonus 2 discs includes live material, B-sides and demos.

The 3 CDs are stowed in walletsalongside 48 pages of original illustrations, artwork and photos and approximately 9000 words of original sleeve notes.

"Sunsets co-written and produced by Steven Wilson, one of his first high profile gigs outside 'No Man' and 'Porcupine Tree'... it's safe to say he did a sterling job. The pairing of Fish's candour and wordplay and Wilson's rhythms and reveries merits critical rehabilitation.

If you're a Fish-ophile you'll relish swimming in the vast ocean of demos, instrumentals and live tracks that engorge these lovingly designed packages. Yet it's his intensity and his theatre that keep them aflame.”Prog Magazine

Remastered by Callum Malcum.